Public Train Calendar

On selected Sundays and Public Holidays, dozens of Weka Pass Railway volunteers set out to Waipara to operate our trains, for the enjoyment and education of all


Our calendar is subject to change without prior notice. Bookings are strongly recommended for all Public Trains. If not marked as sold out on the Tickets – Bookings page, a limited number of tickets may be available for purchase from our Glenmark Station ticket office or the train crew on the day of travel.

 

Public Trains Timetable:

MORNING TRAIN
UP Depart GLENMARK – 11:30am
Arrive WAIKARI – 12:15pm
DOWN Depart WAIKARI – 1:00pm
Arrive GLENMARK – 1:35pm
AFTERNOON TRAIN
UP Depart GLENMARK – 2:00pm
Arrive WAIKARI – 2:45pm
DOWN Depart WAIKARI – 3:10pm
Arrive GLENMARK – 3:45pm

Public Train Calendar:

Sunday 19th September
CANCELLED DUE TO COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS
Our trains and station facilities can also be privately hired on most days of the year, excluding the Public Train Days outlined above. See our Train Hire page for more information…

Trains will either be hauled by A 428, a 1909 ‘Pacific’ type steam locomotive built by A&G Price of Thames, by one or both of our 1950’s classic ‘Dg’ class diesel-electrics of Newton-le-Willows, England, or by Diesel Traction Group’s DE 1429/De 512. All of our locomotives have a colourful history.

All of our trains consist of vintage 1930’s passenger carriages and at least one open-air viewing carriage to take in the views.

Sunday 3rd October
Sunday 17th October
Sunday 7th November
Sunday 21st November
Sunday 5th December
Christmas Trains
Sunday 19th December
Christmas Trains
Sunday 2nd January
Saturday 15th January
Summer Twilight Special
Sunday 16th January
Sunday 6th February
Sunday 20th February
Sunday 6th March
Sunday 20th March
Sunday 3rd April
Sunday 17th April
Easter Sunday
Sunday 1st May
Sunday 15th May
Sunday 5th June
Saturday 18th June
Mid-Winter Night Train
Sunday 19th June